Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education (BIME) is comprised of two divisions, Biomedical and Health Informatics (BHI) and Medical Education and Evaluation (MEE).

All BIME Core & Extended Faculty | All BIME Core Faculty | All BIME Extended Faculty | BHI Core & Extended | BHI Core Faculty | BHI Extended | MEE Core & Extended | MEE Core Faculty | MEE Extended


BHI Extended

Barry Aaronson, MD, FACP, SFHM

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

barry.aaronson@vmmc.org

Website

Interests:

Applied clinical informatics, with focus on using health IT to mistake-proof inpatient quality metrics and safety.

One-page Faculty Profile


Uba Backonja, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

backonja@uw.edu

LinkedIn
Twitter
Website

Interests:

Community-based health informatics, Data visualization, Health inequities, Women’s health, Health promotion

One-page Faculty Profile


Tania P. Bardyn, MLIS, AHIP

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

bardyn@uw.edu

Interests:

Equitable access to high quality health information; clinical and translational information resources; collaborations that foster outcomes in population health research; mobile app development, disaster preparedness resource access; assessing information needs in medical education, GME and CME; using games to improve evidence based information seeking behavior and incorporating it into clinical practice.

One-page Faculty Profile


Daniel Capurro, MD, PhD, FAMIA

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

dcapurro@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Clinical Informatics, Secondary Uses of Electronic Clinical Data, Phenotyping, Temporal Abstractions, Clinical Data Warehouse

One-page Faculty Profile


Jan Carline, PhD

Professor

Primary

MEE

carlinej@uw.edu

Interests:

Medical education and its evaluation.

One-page Faculty Profile


David Chou, MD, MS, FCAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dchou@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic health records (EHRs) interoperability, regulatory issues associated with EHRs, clinical laboratory automation and laboratory information systems, technology evolution and integration.

One-page Faculty Profile


Daniel Cook, MD, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dcook@uw.edu

Interests:

Developing tools for the representation and analysis of complex dynamic systems

One-page Faculty Profile


Walter H. Curioso, MD, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

wcurioso@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Mark Del Beccaro, MD, FAAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

delb@uw.edu

Interests:

Using clinical databases to measure and improve health care outcomes and resource utilization, improve patient safety and decrease readmission. Clinical standard work (see publication Peds Mar 2016).

One-page Faculty Profile


Beth Devine, PhD, PharmD, MBA

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

bdevine@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

medication safety, specifically pharmacogenomic biomarker-guided medication use and adverse drug events

One-page Faculty Profile


Cris Ewell, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ewellc@uw.edu

Interests:

Information security and privacy issues in protecting healthcare data (including collaboration and information sharing), Information security program strategy, risk management methodologies, and threat analysis.

One-page Faculty Profile


Jane Fellner, MD, ABFM, ABPM

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

janefell@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


James Fine, MD, MS

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

jsfine@uw.edu

Interests:

Computer applications in medicine.

One-page Faculty Profile


James A. Foster, AB, MS, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

foster@uidaho.edu

Interests:

Bioinformatics algorithms for analysis of microbial ecosystems, microbiomes, evolutionary computation, genetic programming, agent based simulations, ethics, classical philosophy

One-page Faculty Profile


Amanda “Mandi” Hall, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

mandiha@uw.edu

Interests:

Research focusing on the design, usability, and evaluation of consumer health information technologies, including mobile applications, wearable devices, and healthcare robotics; health education and behavior change interventions; games for health; human factors

One-page Faculty Profile


David Heckerman, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

heckerma@hotmail.com

Website

Interests:

Genomics, vaccine design, computational biology, machine learning

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Horvitz, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

horvitz@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Computational foundations of intelligent sensing, reasoning, and action

One-page Faculty Profile


Dick Edson (Richard) Hoskins, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

rhoskins@uw.edu


Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Shuai Huang, PhD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

shuaih@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Disease modeling, monitoring, prognostics, biomarker discovery, medical decision making

One-page Faculty Profile


Misbah Keen, MD, MBI, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI, MEE

mkeen@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Medical Education especially decentralized clinical education. Clinical Informatics Education.

One-page Faculty Profile


Su-In Lee, PhD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

suinlee@cs.washington.edu

Website

Interests:

Machine learning, computational biology, clinical informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


William Stafford Noble, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

wnoble@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Development and application of machine learning and statistical methods for interpreting complex biological data sets

One-page Faculty Profile


Patrick O’Carroll, MD, MPH

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ocarroll@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Epidemiology, informatics, and public health systems development

One-page Faculty Profile


Thomas Payne, MD, FACMI

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

tpayne@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The use of the electronic health records in patient care, clinical research, and quality improvement
Notes in electronic records, methods to create them and their content

One-page Faculty Profile


Mark Phillips, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

markp@uw.edu

Interests:

Multiobjective optimization, utility measurements, probabilistic modeling of clinical outcomes in radiation oncology, decision modeling in oncology.

One-page Faculty Profile


Ari Pollack, MD, MSIM

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

apollack@uw.edu

Interests:

Clinical informatics; Human-Computer Interaction; Information Architecture; Information Visualization; Population Health.

One-page Faculty Profile


Hoifung Poon, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

hoifung@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Advancing machine reading for precision health by unlocking structured information from text.

One-page Faculty Profile


Elizabeth A. Putnam, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

elizabeth.putnam@montana.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


James D. Ralston, MD, MPH

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ralston.j@ghc.org

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Rose, MD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

emrdoc@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic Medical Record design and implementation, Evidence-Based Medicine, Terminology Systems, Automated Decision-Support

One-page Faculty Profile


Anthony Rossini, ScD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

rossini@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The intersection and combination of interventional and non-interventional clinical studies

One-page Faculty Profile


Michael Ryan, MD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

mjryan@uw.edu

Interests:

Vascular access for dialysis and quality of life in dialysis patients.

One-page Faculty Profile


Doug Schaad, PhD

Professor

Division Head, MEE

Primary

MEE

schaad@uw.edu

Interests:

Career trajectories in the medical profession; Health outcomes associated with new orthopaedic techniques and materials; Compassion, empathy and cynicism in the professional development of physicians; Interprofessional teams and learning outcomes; Curriculum enhancement and associated performance assessment.

One-page Faculty Profile


Craig Scott, PhD

Professor Emeritus

Primary

MEE

scottcs@uw.edu

Interests:

Mind/body medicine, medical student stress management, performance-based teaching and evaluation (including TBL, PBL, flipped classrooms, objectively-structured clinical examinations and standardized patients), medical school admissions, international medical education, and assessment of scientific innovations of National Science Foundation research centers. As an Emeritus faculty member he continues to serve on the UWSoM Admissions Committee. He also serves the National Science Foundation as a center assessment coordinator and evaluator for numerous centers in the Industry/University Cooperative Research Centers Program.

One-page Faculty Profile


Andrew Simms, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

asimms@cognitivemedicine.com

Website

Interests:

Representation of structured and unstructured biomedical data, data analytics, visualization, process mining, large scale computing, clinical decision support, study feasibility, software safety

One-page Faculty Profile


Kari Stephens, PhD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

kstephen@uw.edu

Interests:

Disparities in mental health and services, posttraumatic stress, dissemination of evidenced-based behavioral treatments to integrated care settings, and clinical health informatics with a focus on data sharing to promote translational research with communities.

One-page Faculty Profile


Paul Sutton, MD, PhD, FAMIA

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

plsutton@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Tham, MD, MS

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

eric.tham@seattlechildrens.org

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Hilaire Thompson, PhD, RN, ARNP, CNRN, AGACNP-BC, FAAN

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

hilairet@uw.edu

Interests:

Innovative interventions, symptom science, lifespan health.

One-page Faculty Profile


Erik Van Eaton, MD, FACS

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

vane@uw.edu

Interests:

Enhancing clinical information systems for communication and handoffs; integrating research and registry informatics to clinical care; improving technology for bedside clinical use.

One-page Faculty Profile


Lucy Vanderwende, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

lucy_vanderwende@live.com

Website

Interests:

Automated acquisition of semantic knowledge; information extraction from clinical records; robust, broad-coverage language analysis

One-page Faculty Profile


Thomas Wetter, MSc, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

thomas.wetter@urz.uni-hd.de

Website

Interests:

Consumer Health Informatics, Patient Generated Health Data, Global Health

One-page Faculty Profile


Fei Xia, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

fxia@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Natural language processing, information extraction

One-page Faculty Profile


Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

brendaz@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile