Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education (BIME) is comprised of two divisions, Biomedical and Health Informatics (BHI) and Medical Education and Evaluation (MEE).

All BIME Core & Extended Faculty | All BIME Core Faculty | All BIME Extended Faculty | BHI Core & Extended | BHI Core Faculty | BHI Extended | MEE Core & Extended | MEE Core Faculty | MEE Extended


All BIME Extended Faculty

Barry Aaronson, MD, FACP, SFHM

Professor, Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

barry.aaronson@vmmc.org

Website

Interests:

Applied clinical informatics, with focus on using health IT to mistake-proof inpatient quality metrics and safety.

One-page Faculty Profile


Uba Backonja, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

backonja@uw.edu

LinkedIn
Twitter
Website

Interests:

Community-based health informatics, Data visualization, Health inequities, Women’s health, Health promotion

One-page Faculty Profile


Tania P. Bardyn, MLIS, AHIP

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

bardyn@uw.edu

Interests:

Equitable access to high quality health information; clinical and translational information resources; collaborations that foster outcomes in population health research; mobile app development, disaster preparedness resource access; assessing information needs in medical education, GME and CME; using games to improve evidence based information seeking behavior and incorporating it into clinical practice.

One-page Faculty Profile


Douglas Brock, PhD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

dmbrock@uw.edu

Interests:

Development and evaluation of team based trainings (Interprofessional Education), program evaluation, communication training, patient safety, simulation and midlevel workforce analysis.

One-page Faculty Profile


Daniel Capurro, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

dcapurro@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Clinical Informatics, Secondary Uses of Electronic Clinical Data, Phenotyping, Temporal Abstractions, Clinical Data Warehouse

One-page Faculty Profile


David Chou, MD, MS, FCAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dchou@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic health records (EHRs) interoperability, regulatory issues associated with EHRs, clinical laboratory automation and laboratory information systems, technology evolution and integration.

One-page Faculty Profile


Daniel Cook, MD, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dcook@uw.edu

Interests:

Developing tools for the representation and analysis of complex dynamic systems

One-page Faculty Profile


Walter H. Curioso, MD, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

wcurioso@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Mark Del Beccaro, MD, FAAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

delb@uw.edu

Interests:

Using clinical databases to measure and improve health care outcomes and resource utilization, improve patient safety and decrease readmission. Clinical standard work (see publication Peds Mar 2016).

One-page Faculty Profile


Beth Devine, PhD, PharmD, MBA

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

bdevine@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

medication safety, specifically pharmacogenomic biomarker-guided medication use and adverse drug events

One-page Faculty Profile


Cris Ewell, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ewellc@uw.edu

Interests:

Information security and privacy issues in protecting healthcare data (including collaboration and information sharing), Information security program strategy, risk management methodologies, and threat analysis.

One-page Faculty Profile


Jane Fellner, MD, ABFM, ABPM

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

janefell@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


James Fine, MD, MS

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

jsfine@uw.edu

Interests:

Computer applications in medicine.

One-page Faculty Profile


James A. Foster, AB, MS, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

foster@uidaho.edu

Interests:

Bioinformatics algorithms for analysis of microbial ecosystems, microbiomes, evolutionary computation, genetic programming, agent based simulations, ethics, classical philosophy

One-page Faculty Profile


Amanda “Mandi” Hall, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

mandiha@uw.edu

Interests:

Research focusing on the design, usability, and evaluation of consumer health information technologies, including mobile applications, wearable devices, and healthcare robotics; health education and behavior change interventions; games for health; human factors

One-page Faculty Profile


David Heckerman, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

heckerma@hotmail.com

Website

Interests:

Genomics, vaccine design, computational biology, machine learning

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Horvitz, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

horvitz@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Computational foundations of intelligent sensing, reasoning, and action

One-page Faculty Profile


Dick Edson (Richard) Hoskins, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

rhoskins@uw.edu


Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Shuai Huang, PhD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

shuaih@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Disease modeling, monitoring, prognostics, biomarker discovery, medical decision making

One-page Faculty Profile


Jonathan Ilgen, MD, MCR, FACEP

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

ilgen@uw.edu

Interests:

Clinical and diagnostic reasoning; medical education scholarship; and assessment

One-page Faculty Profile


Misbah Keen, MD, MBI, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI, MEE

mkeen@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Medical Education especially decentralized clinical education. Clinical Informatics Education.

One-page Faculty Profile


Sara Kim, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

MEE

sarakim@uw.edu

Interests:

Educational continuous quality improvement, healthcare communication skills, conflict management negotiation research

One-page Faculty Profile


Eugene Kolker, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

eugene.kolker@seattlechildrens.org

Interests:

Data Analysis, Predictive Analytics, Big Data, Data Mining, Machine Learning, Optimization, Statistical and Algorithmic Development, Bioinformatics, Omics, Community Development, Proteomics, Systems Analysis, Systems Biology, Autism, Heart Diseases.

One-page Faculty Profile


Tao Sheng Kwan-Gett, MD, MPH

Lecturer

Adjunct

BHI

kwangett@uw.edu

Interests:

Public health practice; communicable disease epidemiology; health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Andrew Miller, MS, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

Interests:

Patient-caregiver coordination; Consumer health informatics; Human-Computer Interaction; Adolescent health

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Murphy, PhD, MS

Professor

Affiliate

MEE

esmurphy@alaska.edu

Website

Interests:

Medical education and evaluation

One-page Faculty Profile


Kathleen Murray, MLS

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

MEE

afktm@uaa.alaska.edu

Interests:

Medical education and evaluation

One-page Faculty Profile


Peter Myler, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

mylerpj@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Bioinformatics, genomics, molecular parasitology, systems biology, structural genomics, biodefense

One-page Faculty Profile


William Stafford Noble, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

wnoble@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Development and application of machine learning and statistical methods for interpreting complex biological data sets

One-page Faculty Profile


Elaine Nsoesie, PhD, MS

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

en22@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Infectious disease modeling, public health surveillance, digital epidemiology and global health

One-page Faculty Profile


Patrick O’Carroll, MD, MPH

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ocarroll@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Epidemiology, informatics, and public health systems development

One-page Faculty Profile


Thomas Payne, MD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

tpayne@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The use of the electronic health records in patient care, clinical research, and quality improvement
Notes in electronic records, methods to create them and their content

One-page Faculty Profile


Mark Phillips, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

markp@uw.edu

Interests:

Multiobjective optimization, utility measurements, probabilistic modeling of clinical outcomes in radiation oncology, decision modeling in oncology.

One-page Faculty Profile


Ari Pollack, MD, MSIM

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

apollack@uw.edu

Interests:

Clinical informatics; Human-Computer Interaction; Information Architecture; Information Visualization; Population Health.

One-page Faculty Profile


Diane M. Prorak, MLIS

Affiliate

prorak@uidaho.edu

Interests:

Medical education and evaluation

One-page Faculty Profile


Elizabeth A. Putnam, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

elizabeth.putnam@montana.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


James D. Ralston, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ralston.j@ghc.org

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Annemarie Relyea-Chew, JD, MS

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

archew@uw.edu

Interests:

Medical education and evaluation.

One-page Faculty Profile


Timothy Robinson, PhD, MS

Professor

Affiliate

MEE

tjrobin@uwyo.edu

Interests:

Design of Experiments, Response Surface Methodology, Categorical Data Analysis and applications in engineering, medicine and the environment.

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Rose, MD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

emrdoc@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic Medical Record design and implementation, Evidence-Based Medicine, Terminology Systems, Automated Decision-Support

One-page Faculty Profile


Brian K. Ross, PhD, MD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

bkross@uw.edu

Interests:

Simulators in medical education, regional anesthesia, obstetrical anesthesia and the progress of labor.

One-page Faculty Profile


Anthony Rossini, ScD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

rossini@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The intersection and combination of interventional and non-interventional clinical studies

One-page Faculty Profile


Michael Ryan, MD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

mjryan@uw.edu

Interests:

Vascular access for dialysis and quality of life in dialysis patients.

One-page Faculty Profile


Jane Shelby, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

MEE

njshelby@uw.edu

Interests:

Medical Education and Evaluation

One-page Faculty Profile


Andrew Simms, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

asimms@cognitivemedicine.com

Website

Interests:

Representation of structured and unstructured biomedical data, data analytics, visualization, process mining, large scale computing, clinical decision support, study feasibility, software safety

One-page Faculty Profile


C. Scott Smith, MD

Professor

Adjunct

MEE

scott.smith2@va.gov

Website

Interests:

Interprofessional ambulatory graduate education.

One-page Faculty Profile


Kari Stephens, PhD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

kstephen@uw.edu

Interests:

Disparities in mental health and services, posttraumatic stress, dissemination of evidenced-based behavioral treatments to integrated care settings, and clinical health informatics with a focus on data sharing to promote translational research with communities.

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Stern, MD

Professor

Adjunct

MEE

estern@uw.edu

Interests:

Medical Education and Evaluation

One-page Faculty Profile


Christina Surawicz, MD, MACG

Professor

Adjunct

MEE

christinas@medicine.washington.edu

Interests:

Faculty Development

One-page Faculty Profile


Paul Sutton, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

plsutton@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Eric Tham, MD, MS

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

eric.tham@seattlechildrens.org

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics

One-page Faculty Profile


Erik Van Eaton, MD, FACS

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

vane@uw.edu

Interests:

Enhancing clinical information systems for communication and handoffs; integrating research and registry informatics to clinical care; improving technology for bedside clinical use.

One-page Faculty Profile


Lucy Vanderwende, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

lucyv@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Automated acquisition of semantic knowledge; information extraction from clinical records; robust, broad-coverage language analysis

One-page Faculty Profile


Marjorie Wenrich, MPH

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

MEE

maxter@uw.edu

Interests:

Medical education, physician assessment, change management in medical education, metacognition in teaching and learning

One-page Faculty Profile


Thomas Wetter, MSc, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

thomas.wetter@urz.uni-hd.de

Website

Interests:

Consumer Health Informatics, Patient Generated Health Data, Global Health

One-page Faculty Profile


Fei Xia, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

fxia@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Natural language processing, information extraction

One-page Faculty Profile


Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

brendaz@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics

One-page Faculty Profile