Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education (BIME) is comprised of two divisions, Biomedical and Health Informatics (BHI) and Medical Education and Evaluation (MEE).

All BIME Core & Extended Faculty | All BIME Core Faculty | All BIME Extended Faculty | BHI Core & Extended | BHI Core Faculty | BHI Extended | MEE Core & Extended | MEE Core Faculty | MEE Extended


BHI Core & Extended

Barry Aaronson, MD, FACP, SFHM

Professor, Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

barry.aaronson@vmmc.org

Website

Interests:

Applied clinical informatics, with focus on using health IT to mistake-proof inpatient quality metrics and safety.


Neil Abernethy, PhD

Associate Professor

Primary

BHI

neila@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Models of infectious disease (including TB, HIV, and influenza), molecular epidemiology, network analysis, disease surveillance, data visualization, systems biology, data integration, emerging infections, and global health


Uba Backonja, PhD, RN

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

backonja@uw.edu

LinkedIn
Twitter
Website

Interests:

Community-based health informatics, Data visualization, Health inequities, Women’s health, Health promotion


Tania P. Bardyn, MLIS, AHIP

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

bardyn@uw.edu

Interests:

Equitable access to high quality health information; clinical and translational information resources; collaborations that foster outcomes in population health research; mobile app development, disaster preparedness resource access; assessing information needs in medical education, GME and CME; using games to improve evidence based information seeking behavior and incorporating it into clinical practice.


James Brinkley, MD, PhD

Professor

Joint

BHI

brinkley@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Structural informatics with emphasis on multimedia data management, ontologies, data integration, the semantic web, and visualization as applied to biomedicine; potential applications of structural informatics in areas outside biomedicine, such as music.


Daniel Capurro, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

dcapurro@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Clinical Informatics, Secondary Uses of Electronic Clinical Data, Phenotyping, Temporal Abstractions, Clinical Data Warehouse


Annie Chen, PhD

Assistant Professor

Primary

BHI

atchen@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Chronic illness information behaviors, health-related uses of social media, research methods, natural language processing, patient education, alternative medicine, digital humanities.


David Chou, MD, MS, FCAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dchou@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic health records (EHRs) interoperability, regulatory issues associated with EHRs, clinical laboratory automation and laboratory information systems, technology evolution and integration.


Daniel Cook, MD, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

dcook@uw.edu

Interests:

Developing tools for the representation and analysis of complex dynamic systems


David Crosslin, PhD

Assistant Professor

Primary

BHI

davidcr@uw.edu

Interests:

The Electronic Medical Records & Genomics (eMERGE) Network is on the forefront of precision medicine and discovery using mined phenotypes, and has transitioned from discovery, to interpretation and integration into the EHR for CDS,


Walter H. Curioso, MD, MPH, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

wcurioso@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics


Valerie Daggett, PhD

Interests:

Data management and representation, database, mining techniques, visual analytics, structural bioinformatics, protein folding and design, single-nucleotide polymorphisms, Dynameomics.


Mark Del Beccaro, MD, FAAP

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

delb@uw.edu

Interests:

Using clinical databases to measure and improve health care outcomes and resource utilization, improve patient safety and decrease readmission. Clinical standard work (see publication Peds Mar 2016).


George Demiris, PhD, FACMI

Professor

Vice Chair for Informatics Education

Graduate Program Director

Joint

BHI

gdemiris@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Research focusing on the use of information technology for older adults and patients with chronic conditions, the design and evaluation of “smart homes” and telehealth applications in home care and hospice; examining health informatics graduate education challenges.


Beth Devine, PhD, PharmD, MBA

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

bdevine@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

medication safety, specifically pharmacogenomic biomarker-guided medication use and adverse drug events


Cris Ewell, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ewellc@uw.edu

Interests:

Information security and privacy issues in protecting healthcare data (including collaboration and information sharing), Information security program strategy, risk management methodologies, and threat analysis.


Jane Fellner, MD, ABFM, ABPM

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

janefell@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics


James Fine, MD, MS

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

jsfine@uw.edu

Interests:

Computer applications in medicine.


James A. Foster, AB, MS, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

foster@uidaho.edu

Interests:

Bioinformatics algorithms for analysis of microbial ecosystems, microbiomes, evolutionary computation, genetic programming, agent based simulations, ethics, classical philosophy


Sherrilynne Fuller, PhD, FACMI

Professor Emeritus

Joint

BHI

sfuller@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Knowledge discovery, integrated information systems design: human factors, information retrieval and management.


John Gennari, PhD

Associate Professor

Primary

BHI

gennari@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Ontologies, knowledge sharing, semantic web,


Kenric Hammond, MD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

khammond@uw.edu

Interests:

a) impact on cost/quality/outcomes of electronic medical record systems, b) natural language analysis of patient records


Andrea Hartzler, PhD

Associate Professor

Primary

BHI

andreah@uw.edu

Interests:

Consumer health informatics, social computing, human-centered design, collaborative health technology, patient-provider interaction, peer support, patient-reported outcomes and patient-generated data


David Heckerman, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

heckerma@hotmail.com

Website

Interests:

Genomics, vaccine design, computational biology, machine learning


Eric Horvitz, MD, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

horvitz@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Computational foundations of intelligent sensing, reasoning, and action


Dick Edson (Richard) Hoskins, PhD, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

rhoskins@uw.edu


Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics


Shuai Huang, PhD

Assistant Professor

shuaih@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Disease modeling, monitoring, prognostics, biomarker discovery, medical decision making


Misbah Keen, MD, MBI, MPH

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI, MEE

mkeen@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Medical Education especially decentralized clinical education. Clinical Informatics Education.


Eugene Kolker, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

eugene.kolker@seattlechildrens.org

Interests:

Data Analysis, Predictive Analytics, Big Data, Data Mining, Machine Learning, Optimization, Statistical and Algorithmic Development, Bioinformatics, Omics, Community Development, Proteomics, Systems Analysis, Systems Biology, Autism, Heart Diseases.


Diane M. Korngiebel, DPhil

Assistant Professor

Primary

BHI

dianemk@uw.edu

Interests:

Shared-decision making, user-centered design, implementation science, ethically informed genomic medicine, clinical decision support, patient portals


Tao Sheng Kwan-Gett, MD, MPH

Lecturer

Adjunct

BHI

kwangett@uw.edu

Interests:

Public health practice; communicable disease epidemiology; health informatics


Michael Leu, MD, MS, MHS

Associate Professor

Clinical Informatics Fellowship Director

Primary

BHI

mgl27@uw.edu

Interests:

Translating innovations into practice in ways that improve patient care and clinical outcomes, while respecting clinical practice patterns. Using technology to efficiently disseminate the best clinical care so that it is practiced throughout the WWAMI region.


Bill Lober, MD, MS

Professor

Joint

BHI

lober@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Clinical, public health, and global health informatics


Gang Luo, PhD

Associate Professor

Primary

BHI

luogang@uw.edu

Gang Luo website

Interests:

Health/clinical informatics (data/predictive analytics and software system design/development), big data, machine learning, data mining, information retrieval, and database systems.


David Masuda, MD

Lecturer

Primary

BHI

Interests:

Applied informatics educational program development with a focus on leadership in health information technology and clinical informatics.


Daniel Masys, MD, FACMI

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

dmasys@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Development of informatics infrastructure for conducting clinical and translational research, and genone-phenome correlation using phenotype data derived from electronic medical records data


Andrew Miller, MS, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

Interests:

Patient-caregiver coordination; Consumer health informatics; Human-Computer Interaction; Adolescent health


Sean Mooney, PhD, FACMI

Professor

Chief Research Information Officer

Primary

BHI

sdmooney@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Managing the development of collaborative electronic systems supporting biomedical research with a focus on leading the next generation informatics tools for biomedical research and understanding the underlying molecular causes of inherited genetic diseases and cancer.


Peter Myler, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

mylerpj@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Bioinformatics, genomics, molecular parasitology, systems biology, structural genomics, biodefense


William Stafford Noble, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

wnoble@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Development and application of machine learning and statistical methods for interpreting complex biological data sets


Elaine Nsoesie, PhD, MS

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

en22@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Infectious disease modeling, public health surveillance, digital epidemiology and global health


Patrick O’Carroll, MD, MPH

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ocarroll@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Epidemiology, informatics, and public health systems development


Thomas Payne, MD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

tpayne@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The use of the electronic health records in patient care, clinical research, and quality improvement
Notes in electronic records, methods to create them and their content


Mark Phillips, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

markp@uw.edu

Interests:

Multiobjective optimization, utility measurements, probabilistic modeling of clinical outcomes in radiation oncology, decision modeling in oncology.


Ari Pollack, MD, MSIM

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

apollack@uw.edu

Interests:

Clinical informatics; Human-Computer Interaction; Information Architecture; Information Visualization; Population Health.


Wanda Pratt, PhD, FACMI

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

wpratt@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Consumer health informatics, information retrieval, human computer interaction, design of information technology, patient-provider communication, and user studies


Elizabeth A. Putnam, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

elizabeth.putnam@montana.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics


James D. Ralston, MD, MPH

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

ralston.j@ghc.org

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics


Eric Rose, MD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

emrdoc@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Electronic Medical Record design and implementation, Evidence-Based Medicine, Terminology Systems, Automated Decision-Support


Brian K. Ross, PhD, MD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

bkross@uw.edu

Interests:

Simulators in medical education, regional anesthesia, obstetrical anesthesia and the progress of labor.


Anthony Rossini, ScD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

rossini@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

The intersection and combination of interventional and non-interventional clinical studies


Michael Ryan, MD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

MEE

mjryan@uw.edu

Interests:

Vascular access for dialysis and quality of life in dialysis patients.


Doug Schaad, PhD

Professor

Division Head, MEE

Primary

MEE

schaad@uw.edu

Interests:

Career trajectories in the medical profession; Health outcomes associated with new orthopaedic techniques and materials; Compassion, empathy and cynicism in the professional development of physicians; Interprofessional teams and learning outcomes; Curriculum enhancement and associated performance assessment.


Linda Shapiro, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

Interests:

Funded research in a) object and pattern recognition b) medical imaging c) multimedia information retrieval for medical applications d) biomedical informatics information systems e) craniofacial image analysis


Andrew Simms, PhD

Assistant Professor

Affiliate

BHI

asimms@cognitivemedicine.com

Website

Interests:

Representation of structured and unstructured biomedical data, data analytics, visualization, process mining, large scale computing, clinical decision support, study feasibility, software safety


C. Scott Smith, MD

Professor

Adjunct

MEE

scott.smith2@va.gov

Website

Interests:

Interprofessional ambulatory graduate education.


Kari Stephens, PhD

Assistant Professor

Adjunct

BHI

kstephen@uw.edu

Interests:

Disparities in mental health and services, posttraumatic stress, dissemination of evidenced-based behavioral treatments to integrated care settings, and clinical health informatics with a focus on data sharing to promote translational research with communities.


Paul Sutton, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

plsutton@uw.edu

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics


Peter Tarczy-Hornoch, MD, FACMI

Professor

Chair, BIME

Primary

BHI, MEE

pth@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Data integration and knowledge bases as applied to: translational bioinformatics, biospecimen acquisition, clinical/translational research, clinical data repositories, genomic medicine, and comparative effectiveness research


Eric Tham, MD, MS

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

eric.tham@seattlechildrens.org

Interests:

Biomedical and Health Informatics


Anne Turner, MD, MLIS, MPH, FACMI

Associate Professor

Joint

BHI

amturner@uw.edu

NWCPHP
CPHI

Interests:

Public health informatics, use of machine translation and natural language processing to improve communication with Limited English Proficiency populations, public health information workflow, evaluation of public health information system.


Erik Van Eaton, MD, FACS

Associate Professor

Adjunct

BHI

vane@uw.edu

Interests:

Enhancing clinical information systems for communication and handoffs; integrating research and registry informatics to clinical care; improving technology for bedside clinical use.


Lucy Vanderwende, PhD

Associate Professor

Affiliate

BHI

lucyv@microsoft.com

Website

Interests:

Automated acquisition of semantic knowledge; information extraction from clinical records; robust, broad-coverage language analysis


Thomas Wetter, MSc, PhD

Professor

Affiliate

BHI

thomas.wetter@urz.uni-hd.de

Website

Interests:

Consumer Health Informatics, Patient Generated Health Data, Global Health


Mark Whipple, MD, MS, FACS

Associate Professor

Joint

BHI

mwhipple@uw.edu

Interests:

Developing predictive models of head and neck tumor metastasis from sparse data sources using formal anatomic knowledge representations. Genomics of head and neck tumors (squamous cell carcinoma, infantile hemangiomas, lymphatic malformations).


Adam Wilcox, PhD

Professor

Chief Analytics Officer

Primary

BHI

abwilcox@uw.edu

Interests:

Electronic health records, quality improvement, patient-centered outcomes, methodology, health care transformation


Fei Xia, PhD

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

fxia@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Natural language processing, information extraction


Meliha Yetisgen, PhD

Associate Professor

Primary

BHI

melihay@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Statistical natural language processing, text mining, information retrieval


Brenda Zierler, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor

Adjunct

BHI

brendaz@uw.edu

Website

Interests:

Biomedical and health informatics